Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Open form

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    48

    Open form

    I would like to know if there is a way of opening a form to add a new record. But on opening it appends to the last record instead of opening at record 1.

    for instance if I have x records I want to open the form with a command button and it will go to record x+1 instead of record 1.



    Rob

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    102
    DoCmd.OpenForm "frmParticipants", , , , acFormAdd

    Will open up a form in data entry mode.

    This is the simplest solution (I think) to what you are after (which I am not really sure about).

    Otherwise you can open the form with an Opening Arg and in the load event something like

    If me.openarg = "your open arg" then
    DoCmd.GoToRecord acActiveDataObject, , acNewRec
    end if

    I am not entirely sure I understand you though.

    HTH,

    Peter

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    48
    The thing that I am asking say for instance I have 50 records. When opening the form I want it directly to go to a new record 51 with out happening to open to the first record. I believe by default when opeing a recor it goes to record when then you have to go to the last record before entering data. I want to be able to open the form and just type in data.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    102
    My first suggest will go directly to the new record, but will not show the other 50 records.

    Suggestion 2 will show the 50 and go to a new record.

    I haven't tested the second but I'd be surprised if it didn't work.

    HTH,

    Peter

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3
    In the On Open event use this code

    DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNewRec


    This will open on a new record each time

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    102
    But do you want that as the default behavior of your form?

    Best to have the form dynamically respond to an OpenArg I reckon.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1
    In the form design do the following:
    right click to open Build open, choose Macro Builder, select a macro name. In the Action menu, choose GoToRecord. At the bottom, select Object type- form, Obj. name- your form's name, Recor- New.
    Save the macro & the form and recall the form. i hope this will solve the record problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •