Thread: How to read DBCC SHOWCONTIG ???

Zubair Guest

How to read DBCC SHOWCONTIG ???

Hello,

I'm new to SQL Server, can somebody please give me a good explaination about whats wrong in the following table stats. I tried to see it in BOL, but I wuold appreciate if someone can suggest me the rules here, for expample what should be the ideal scan density and so on. Also let me know what one should do if there are some problems like mentioned below:

Thanks in advance.
    Zubair

DBCC SHOWCONTIG scanning 'OrderDetails' table...
    Table: 'OrderDetails' (2141354793); index ID: 1, database ID: 7
    TABLE level scan performed.
    - Pages Scanned................................: 24168
    - Extents Scanned..............................: 3034
    - Extent Switches..............................: 4984
    - Avg. Pages per Extent........................: 8.0
    - Scan Density [Best Count:Actual Count].......: 60.60% [3021:4985]
    - Logical Scan Fragmentation ..................: 65.76%
    - Extent Scan Fragmentation ...................: 2.80%
    - Avg. Bytes Free per Page.....................: 775.8
    - Avg. Page Density (full).....................: 90.42%
    DBCC execution completed. If DBCC printed error messages, contact your system administrator.

loonbug Guest

How to read DBCC SHOWCONTIG ??? (reply)

There are a few important pieces of information here:
    1. Pages Scaned = the number of physical memory pages that needed to be accessed to do a full table scan. This is good for establishing a baseline for query optimization.

2. Extents Scanned: This shows you the number of extents (8 page blocks) had to be accessed for a table scan. The ideal amount would be 3021 which is 24168 pages/(8 pages per extent). The difference from ideal is the number of pages that are in mixed extents = in your case 3034 - 3021