Thread: Truncate or Rebuild Tables?

Hybrid View

Tommy Guest

Truncate or Rebuild Tables?

I frequently have tables that I want to empty and refill. I thought I read somewhere that trucating was a bad idea, example:

Truncate table tblFruits

A bad idea because of something to do with the log? I'm a beginner so I don't understand transaction processing very well, or logs.

Is it better to delete the table and rebuild it in code before you add the values?

Sundar Guest

Truncate or Rebuild Tables? (reply)

We truncate a couple of our tables at the end of each night and have never experienced problems so far. Our transaction logs haven't grown to a huge size but then we do dump the transaction log every night as well.

------------
    Tommy at 3/8/01 5:32:57 PM

I frequently have tables that I want to empty and refill. I thought I read somewhere that trucating was a bad idea, example:

Truncate table tblFruits

A bad idea because of something to do with the log? I'm a beginner so I don't understand transaction processing very well, or logs.

Is it better to delete the table and rebuild it in code before you add the values?

some differences between truncate and delete sql commands:

sql delete command:

a) Deletes all or some records from the table, you can limit the records to be deleted by using the WHERE clause
    b) Does not free the space occupied by the data in the table (in the TABLESPACE - on the disk)
    c) Does not reset the SEQUENCE value assigned to the table
    d) DELETE works much slower than TRUNCATE
    e) DELETE can be applied to tables and tables in a cluster (can be Oracle specific)
    f) Oracle - For DELETE, you can use the GRANT command
    g) The DELETE operation does not make unusable indexes usable again
    h) DELETE requires a shared table lock
    i) Triggers fire
    j) DELETE can be used in the case of: database link
    k) DELETE returns the number of records deleted