Hi,

I'm relatively new to MDX and found myself struggling a bit today to work out how to produce a calculated measure that is a filtered version of one of the base measures. In my case, the base measure was named [Gross Premium] and I wanted a calculated measure named [Written Gross Premium]. I managed to write the following MDX query, which gave me the value I wanted thanks to the WHERE clause. However, I wanted to provide a calculated measure in the cube named [Written Gross Premium] to avoid the user from needing to remember to filter [Gross Premium] appropriately by Record Status and Transaction Type. I did work out a solution after a frustrating couple of hours (details below) but I'd really appreciate some insight from a more experienced MDX developer to comment on whether or not the solution is the only way, and if not is there a better way?

Firstly, here's my initial MDX query to return me all the Written Gross Premium for Dec-2014:

SELECT [Measures].[Gross Premium] ON COlUMNS,
[Transaction Date].[Calendar Month Hierarchy].[Calendar Year Month].&[2014-12] ON ROWS
FROM [MyCube]
WHERE ([Policy].[Record Status].&[Is Active],
FILTER([Transaction Type].[Transaction Hierarchy].[Transaction Type],
[Transaction Type].[Transaction Hierarchy].currentmember IS
[Transaction Type].[Transaction Hierarchy].[Transaction Type].&[Written Additional Premium]
OR [Transaction Type].[Transaction Hierarchy].currentmember IS
[Transaction Type].[Transaction Hierarchy].[Transaction Type].&[Written Premium]
OR [Transaction Type].[Transaction Hierarchy].currentmember IS
[Transaction Type].[Transaction Hierarchy].[Transaction Type].&[Written Return Premium]));