Not sure if this is in the right place (maybe it belongs in the SQL Server forum, but I thought it sounded a bit more general than that)

OK so I'm in the process of developing an SQL Server (Express) db with a C# winforms front end. I am a complete newbie to SQL Server, and am not that experienced in databases bar some simple hacking around in Access.

It's for an audio rental/hire company.

I have a couple of questions:

1. There is a sort of 'main' database (called "EMS_Main" at the moment which holds a load of mundane stuff like a list of staff, discount types etc etc, and also some more important stuff like a table with some basic quote details (quote number, status, dates etc). What I'm struggling with is how to store the details of those jobs. Each of these jobs has a 'specification', which in itself will need to be a separate table of data, and then some other tables too (e.g. logistics details, venue details etc).

So I end up with this scenario of having a job which is a record in EMS_Main, which needs to have multiple tables attached to it somehow. So what's the best/recommended way to do this? I was toying with the idea of creating a separate database for each job (we quote for ~1500 jobs per year, so that's a lot of databases and tables), and just changing the connection string in the code, but that sounds excessive, possibly a recipe for pain later on, and I don't even know if it's possible (I'm guessing there's an upper limit on number of databases). Is there a nice, easy way to organise this within EMS_Main (can tables be put into folders or classes or something? So I could refer to them like EMS_Main.[folder].[table].[field name]), or am I barking up the wrong tree?