Thread: Backups

Backups

Hi all. I'm seeing an issue with my Backup directory. Currently I have maintenance running on all of my databases to run complete backups daily for the databases and transaction logs. They are set to go to "D:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\BACKUP" with a ".BAK" extension. I also have it set to remove files older than 5 days.

I noticed the directory was growing to over 100GB's. I went to the backup directory and noticed I had 700+ files with a .TRN extension. These are totally to over 85GB's. The remainder files are 5 days worth of backups.

My question is what exactly are the .TRN files (I'm an SQL noob). I would like to free up some space on this server, but I don't want to just go and delete stuff. Please advise. Thank you.

These are transaction log backup files. Did you setup maintenace plan to delete older transaction log backup files as well?

Thanks for the reply skhanal. I checked again and see that the Transaction Logs are setup to go to "D:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\BACKUP", but are also configured to "remove files older than 5 days". It's also set on a schedule of M-Saturday at 12AM.

Backups do the same, except they are setup M-Sunday at 2AM. I verified that there are no backup's in there older than 5 days. What's the deal?

Take look at plan's log file, it should tell you why didn't delete old log backup files.

When I look in the Maintenance Plan log, I see this:

"Backup can not be performed on this database. This sub task is ignored"

No error number or anything though.

After googling the error, I get this: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/303229

When I run a query to show the Recovery mode, I see that the three databases that are failing to delete the transaction logs are in "Full" mode. The ones that are working correctly are in "Simple".. which is the opposite of the Microsoft KB. Should I change them to all be Simple?

You can't backup transaction log for databases in Simple mode.