Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: ms access database

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    18

    ms access database

    Hello all,

    Is there anyone that can help me out of this problem:

    I have an access database application runing on my system and i want it to be available to number of users on the network that will post data and the data will reflect on the server.

    Please kindly assist me. I will really appreciate it.

    samson

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3
    If you are running this database on a network, the best solution, for multiple users to enter data - is to split the database - you can distribute the frontend (contains only forms, reports, queries) to those users with a link to one backend database (which will only contain the database tables).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    18

    MS Access database

    cdishawaii,

    I really appreciate the solution you suggested.

    Thank you very much, it has got me out of the problem.

    There is a point i dont know if i implemented well.

    Here is the scenario:
    I did as you suggested, but i had to link the table with - Link Table command in Get External Data menu that is under File Menu.

    It is working but, the network administrator said my application is causing a congestion on the network.

    Let me say once again, i really appreciate the solution but i dont mind if you can still help further on the network issue. Or is it something else that is congesting the network?

    Thanks a lot.

    Samson Ojo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3

    Red face

    Yes, the steps you have performed are the correct ones. The only other suggestion, is to have your users use the front-end database file on their respective local harddrive; this should alleviate strain on the network by putting the processing back onto the user's computer.

    Aloha
    Dawn
    cdishawaii

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    18

    ms database

    Hi cdishawaii,

    Thank you very much once again.

    I have done exactly as you suggested.

    If i have further issues i will let you know.

    By the way, how is your name pronounced?

    Have a wonderful time.

    Regards,

    Samson

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3
    Excellent! My name is Dawn, like the time of day before sunrise.

    Take care
    Dawn Sanders
    CDIS Hawaii

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    18

    ms access

    Hello All,

    In my access database, i have two controls - a textbox and a check box.

    I want a situation where if the value of the text box is 0, then the checkbox can be enable, else, the check box should be disabled such that users will not be able to select it.

    I have below a sub-procedure that i used and im not getting the result:

    Private Sub Reconcile_AfterUpdate()

    If Me!Reconcile = 0 Then
    Me!commit2invoice = enable
    Else
    Me!commit2invoice = disable
    End If

    End Sub

    OR

    Private Sub Reconcile_AfterUpdate()

    If Reconcile = 0 Then
    commit2invoice = enable
    Else
    commit2invoice = disable

    Please kindly help me out, i will really be grateful.

    Samson
    End If

    End Sub

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Maitland NSW Australia
    Posts
    275

    Smile

    Try this

    Private Sub Reconcile_AfterUpdate()

    If Me!Reconcile = 0 Then
    Me!commit2invoice.enable=true
    Else
    Me!commit2invoice.enable=false
    End If

    End Sub
    Allan

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    18

    MS Access

    Alan,

    Thank you very much for the assistance but unfortunately it did not work. I dont know what is wrong. Or is there another way to it?

    Thank you once again, i really will appreciate solution to this problem.

    Samson

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Maitland NSW Australia
    Posts
    275

    Unhappy

    Sorry, there was a typing error in the previous reply .enable should be .enabled as below.

    Private Sub Reconcile_AfterUpdate()

    If Me!Reconcile = 0 Then
    Me!commit2invoice.enabled=true
    Else
    Me!commit2invoice.enabled=false
    End If

    End Sub
    __________________
    Allan

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    18

    ms access

    Allan,

    Honestly, it did not work. I have corrrected it to .enabled but it did not work.

    Is there no other way? Please kindly assist.

    Samson ojo

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Maitland NSW Australia
    Posts
    275
    Samson

    I have attached a sample form that uses unbound fields to show how the coding work.

    Do you have a table as the record source for your form? Is the reconcile field on your form formatted for text or numeric?

    Could you please post a copy of the form and the record source?
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Allan

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    18

    ms access

    Hello Allan,

    Men, i really appreciate your effort very much.

    I have tried to attached file but it exceeds the forum maximum file that could be attached.

    Im sorry that i had to send to your personal mail. Please help me out of this strees. The pressure from my boss is much.

    Thank you once again.

    Best regards,

    Samson Ojo

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    11
    How do you have the values set on FORM_OPEN?
    This code:
    Private Sub Reconcile_AfterUpdate()

    If Me!Reconcile = 0 Then
    Me!commit2invoice.enable=true
    Else
    Me!commit2invoice.enable=false
    End If

    End Sub
    ---
    only executes when the value of RECONCILE is changed. You need the same sort of coding to execute on FORM_OPEN

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Maitland NSW Australia
    Posts
    275

    Reconcile

    The main problem is that you can not change the record source of the form as it is a 1 to many query.

    From my understanding the Account Officer(s) will make the final adjustment to the passenger breakdown e.g number of females, males, children, infants, staff on duty and free tickets etc. When the value of the reconcile field is zero then the commit2invoice will be enabled for the user to click.

    Using this scenario I have added the following code to the relevant form.


    Private Sub Children_AfterUpdate()
    check_reconcile
    End Sub

    Private Sub Female_AfterUpdate()
    check_reconcile
    End Sub

    Private Sub FOC_AfterUpdate()
    check_reconcile
    End Sub

    Private Sub Infant_AfterUpdate()
    check_reconcile
    End Sub

    Private Sub Male_AfterUpdate()
    check_reconcile
    End Sub

    Private Sub SOD_AfterUpdate()
    check_reconcile
    End Sub

    Sub check_reconcile()
    If Me!Reconcile = 0 Then
    Me!commit2invoice.Enabled = True
    Else
    Me!commit2invoice.Enabled = False
    End If
    End Sub

    Samson maybe able to add more information regarding the requirements etc.
    Allan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •