Thread: sorting nvarchar fields

sorting nvarchar fields

Hi all,

I am having an issue which I'm guessing everyone has at one point. I just can't seem to find the answer. I might be misunderstanding something as I'm relatively new to SQL and data types etc.

Here is my issue.

I have a table with a column that has a nvarchar data type. The following is an example of field values in that column.

asystem1
    zsystem19
    zsystem9
    bsystem23
    bsystem3

I would like to sort that data alphabetically and then by number like so.

asystem1
    bsystem3
    bsystem23
    zsystem9
    zsystem19

A basic ORDER BY obviously will sort it alphabetically but will put 23 before 3. These system names are already named and can't be changed otherwise I would use "0" in front of single digit numbers.

I just can't figure out how to accomplish this. Is there a convert or cast (unfamiliar with those functions) that I can do or does it involve something more sophisticated?

I appreciate any help in advance.

Israel

Use CAST:

CAST ( expression AS data_type )

OR CONVERT:

CONVERT ( data_type [ ( length ) ] , expression [ , style ] )

Quote Originally Posted by israelnyc
    Hi all,

I am having an issue which I'm guessing everyone has at one point. I just can't seem to find the answer. I might be misunderstanding something as I'm relatively new to SQL and data types etc.

Here is my issue.

I have a table with a column that has a nvarchar data type. The following is an example of field values in that column.

asystem1
    zsystem19
    zsystem9
    bsystem23
    bsystem3

I would like to sort that data alphabetically and then by number like so.

asystem1
    bsystem3
    bsystem23
    zsystem9
    zsystem19

A basic ORDER BY obviously will sort it alphabetically but will put 23 before 3. These system names are already named and can't be changed otherwise I would use "0" in front of single digit numbers.