Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MSSQL: Second user trying to connect generates: Cannot open user default database.

MSSQL: Second user trying to connect generates: Cannot open user default database.

Hi, I'm new to MSSQL Express 2005.
    I have a website (ASP.NET 2.0) accessing DB, in the mean time Windows Service tries to update some data in the same DB (Service runs as NT AUTHORITY\LOCAL SYSTEM). The second connection is rejected: "Cannot open user default database. Login failed.Login failed for user ....".
    Problem occurs only when both: service and website are running at the same time. So service and website are running without problems when they are connecting DB exclusively.
    My connection string is:
    "Data Source=.\SQLEXPRESS;AttachDbFilename="|DataDirecto ry|\spider-lab.mdf";Integrated Security=True;User Instance=True"

I would be grateful if you can help.

Is sql2k5 running on same machine? Why use AttachDbFilename in connection string? Try specify db name in the string.

Yes, everything runs locally. I use AttachDbFilename because I want quick deployment of the programme (it's part of thesis).

How to specify database name in connection string while using AttachDBfilename?

hmmm, when I run service as currently logged user - everything is OK. Maybe it's a matter of security arrangements in DB?

Check what is the default database for the service account you are using. From the error message, the default database is set for some other database not the application database it should connect to.

How do I set default database to 'attacheddbfile' database? There is no my database @ combobox next to 'default database' (why should it be?. I added 'initial catalog=my_database' to connection string instead. Now the the second user gets:
    "Unable to establish connection with the database: cannot open connection Cannot open database "my_database" requested by the login. The login failed."
    The first user can connect. This is so mental...