Thread: mdx help

mdx help

Hi! I'm very new to mdx and am trying to learn this w/out microsoft analysis services. I'm currently using a product called Pentaho - it uses Mondrian and they expect you to have a prior knowledge of mdx. Anyway, here's my situation.

I have five dimensions, two measures, and a calculated member. The problem I have is that the calculated member is a percentage of net sales. (Net sales is a measure.) I want a user to be able to drill through any of the dimensions and get the correct net sales calculation. I currently have the following:

WITH
    MEMBER [Measures].[Net Sales %]
    AS IIF(ISEMPTY(([Measures].[Net Sales], [Business Type].Parent, [Category].Parent)), 1, [Measures].[Net Sales] / ([Measures].[Net Sales], [Business Type].Parent, [Category].Parent)),
    FORMAT_STRING = "0.0%"

This gives me the correct percentage of net sales but only when the Business Type and Category dimensions are both drilled thru. I want to show if either one is drilled thru w/out having to do both. I've seen the colon used to define a range of members - is there any way to define a range of dimensions? Any help you can provide will be most appreciated. Thanks!

If I understand the scenario (at least the desired result), you might find that specifiying each dimension for each drillthrough possibility (use Dimension.CurrentMember) in your calculated member will get you where you want to be.

Give it a shot and let us know if I'm missing the boat on the requirement.

Thanks.

Bill