Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Error on SET Proxy Account

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    9

    Unhappy Error on SET Proxy Account

    I'm trying to set a proxy account for the SQL agent. The user is Local
    administrator on the SQL Server when I try to set the account I get a message back that says
    "The system cannot find the path specified."
    I get the same error with TSQL too.

    EXEC master..xp_sqlagent_proxy_account
    'SET', N'MY_DOMAIN', N'Myadm', N'MyPassword'

    My system :
    Windows Server 2003 SP1
    SQL Server 2000 SP4

    I am worried it might be interfering with someing.
    Any ideas what paths it could be after?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,938
    Did you try to set it on the server directly?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    3,932
    Can you run

    EXEC master.dbo.xp_sqlagent_proxy_account N'GET'

    to get the current settings?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    2Rmiao
    I have connected to Server by Remote desktop with "console" flag:
    %windir%\system32\mstsc.exe /console

    2Skhanal
    Yes I have ran it.
    It returns me Domain name and user name, but it does not sense.
    Job with none sysadmin user with linked server does not work.
    See MS recomendations : "PRB SQL Server Agent Job Fails When the Job Uses a Linked Server and the Job Owner Is Not a System Administrator"
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;811031

    Any Ideas ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,938
    If it returns domain name and user name, that means you have proxy account set already. Keep in mind that the proxy account needs sysadmin rights or at least has permission to execute required system stored procedures.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    9
    2Rmiao
    Thanks a lot
    It seems you are right, instead of the TSQL code

    EXEC master..xp_sqlagent_proxy_account
    'SET', N'MY_DOMAIN', N'Myadm', N'MyPassword'

    returns error message : "The system cannot find the path specified."
    It seems ok I have checked it superficially.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •