Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23

Thread: Straight to filter page

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    11
    I have not used the Debug option before. What value do I need to set it to in order to show all steps. Also, where does it put the debug information? In a file, or on the webpage that is generated.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    933
    checkout the dbDebug of the online manual. the debug is an on-screen dump. Dump all so we can see where the SQL changed to SELECT * ... from SELECT TOP n .... after dbExpress=true

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    11
    OK... I am going to need to add a where clause to my select though, because the page times out before it can deal with the 30 million records.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    933
    if you can build the case using nwind then the debug will be much easier. All we need to see is the SELECT * .. statement.

    FK

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    11
    Hi Frank. I see now that ASP-DB is issuing SET ROWCOUNT 50, because that is what size my grid is set to. I also see now, after using showplan, that MS SQL server is having problems selecting an optimal query plan when using SET ROWCOUNT. Without SET ROWCOUNT it uses a HASH join. With ROWCOUNT set it uses a LOOP join, and takes more than 5 times longer to run. Using a join hint in my query gets performance back to what I was expecting. Thank you for your help in looking into this issue Frank.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    933
    This SET ROWCOUNT stuff is controllable. If you have problem again, let me know and we'll find a way to get around that.


    FK

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    62

    I think I cured this problem

    I seem to remember having this problem some time ago. Try setting to the page maximum size to 20 - mydb.dbGridinc="20". I can't remember the syntax for the .dbGridIncMax (I'm on Tornado) which may need changing as well. This seems to stop the whole recordset being queried.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    933
    So, do we have a problem or not? If so, please be more specific the problem area and also some sample code will help.


    FK

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •