Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: insert problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4

    insert problem

    hi,

    i created a table

    CREATE TABLE emp_details (
    id int(10) NOT NULL auto_increment,
    projektnr varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
    hvorgang varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
    uvorgang varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
    soll varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
    status varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
    PRIMARY KEY (id)
    ) TYPE=MyISAM

    now the problem is im trying to insert the values for hvorgang and uvorgang for particular id thru application for that i created a text field and submit button im using php4.0.6

    PHP Code:

    $nr 
    +=0;
     if (isset(
    $HTTP_POST_VARS['add'])){
     
    mysql_query("INSERT into emp_details SET hvorgang = '".$HTTP_POST_VARS['newhvorgang']."' WHERE id = $nr");
     
    mysql_query("INSERT into emp_details SET uvorgang = '".$HTTP_POST_VARS['newuvorgang']."' WHERE id = $nr");
       } 
    but im not able to get iserted teh value in database anybody help me out be appreciable
    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    468
    i am not a php guy, but looking at the SQL statement (if i read it correctly) you are mixing up INSERT and UPDATE statements.

    insert should be something like:
    INSERT INTO table_name VALUES (value1, value2, ...)
    the SET and WHERE clause are not envolved in an INSERT. these are usually used in an UPDATE statement.

    sometimes it is good to just try the statement from outside the application and see what kind of errors you are getting if the application doesn't trap them.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4
    thanks alot but plz have a look at the below link

    http://server2.vitodesign.com/scripts/drop.phtml

    then how i can insert the values in drop down thru application for both fields at same time if not clear shall i post my code so that it will be more clear

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    468
    if i understand the php formating you insert should be something like:

    mysql_query("INSERT into emp_details (hvorgang,uvorgang) VALUES ('".$HTTP_POST_VARS['newhvorgang']."','".$HTTP_POSTVARS['newuvorgang']."'");

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4
    it works but in database it inserts twice plz have a look at the link

    $nr +=0;
    if (isset($HTTP_POST_VARS['add'])){
    mysql_query("INSERT INTO emp_details(id, hvorgang, uvorgang) VALUES(".$nr.", ' ".$HTTP_POST_VARS['newhvorgang']." ', ' ".$HTTP_POST_VARS['newuvorgang']." ')");
    }

    and delete function wont works dont no why
    if (isset($HTTP_POST_VARS["remove"])){
    mysql_query("DELETE FROM emp_details WHERE id = $nr");
    }

    and in MYSQL database it prints like this

    id hvorgang uvorgang
    1 test test1
    2 test test1
    3 gfgf fgfgf

    hope this is clear

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    468
    i am not a php guy
    i did go to the site and hit the add button a few times. delete the rows from the table and try again to see if you are truly getting multiple rows for the insert. if so, you will have to check your logic in the code.

    i am not a php guy
    but if the delete statement should follow the insert statement format i think you have missplaced a few characters. might be:
    mysql_query("DELETE FROM emp_details WHERE id = ".$nr.);

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4
    [thanks alot for ur sincere advice


    now it works fine actually i modified but anybody plz help me how to update the selected value from drop down let say if i select test and it will display in text field and then when i change it to any name let say FORUM then this name be replaced hope this is clear

    plz have a look at this link http://server2.vitodesign.com/scripts/drop.phtml for more clearity

    i want update to work rest is working add and delete

    PHP Code:


    <?
             include("../settings.php");
                 /* Connecting, selecting database */
                 $link = mysql_connect("$dbhost", "$dbuser", "$dbpw")
                 or die("Could not connect");

                 mysql_select_db("$dbuser") or die("Could not select database");

    #ADD ITEM
        if (isset($HTTP_POST_VARS["add"]))
        {
            if (isset($HTTP_POST_VARS["NEWuvorgang"]) && $HTTP_POST_VARS["NEWuvorgang"]!="")
            {
                mysql_query("INSERT INTO uvorgang SET name = '".$HTTP_POST_VARS["NEWuvorgang"]."'");
            }
            elseif (isset($HTTP_POST_VARS["NEWhvorgang"]) && $HTTP_POST_VARS["NEWhvorgang"]!="")
            {
                mysql_query("INSERT INTO hvorgang SET name = '".$HTTP_POST_VARS["NEWhvorgang"]."'");
            }
        }
    #REMOVE ITEM
        if (isset($HTTP_POST_VARS["remove"]))
        {
            if (isset($HTTP_POST_VARS["uvorgang"]))
            {
                mysql_query("DELETE FROM uvorgang WHERE name = '".$HTTP_POST_VARS["uvorgang"]."'");
            }
            elseif (isset($HTTP_POST_VARS["hvorgang"]))
            {
                mysql_query("DELETE FROM hvorgang WHERE name = '".$HTTP_POST_VARS["hvorgang"]."'");
            }
        }

    ?>

    <TABLE border="1" width="170" height="1" bgcolor="#666666" align="left" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" bordercolor="#FFFFFF">
                                 <TR bordercolor="#FFFFFF" bgcolor="#333333">
                                   <TD height="1" colspan="3">
                                     <P align="center"><B><FONT face="Arial" size="2" color="#FF6600">Hauptvorgang</FONT></P>
                                   </TD>
                                 </TR>

                                 <TR bordercolor="#FF6600">
                                        <TD nowrap>Enter Option Name:
                                        <?
                                        $queryH = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM hvorgang");
                                         echo "  <form name=FORMhvorgang action='' method=post>
                                                            <input type=text size=10 name=NEWhvorgang>
                                                            <SELECT name=hvorgang>";
                                            while($hvorgang=mysql_fetch_object($queryH))
                                            {
                                                    echo "<option>$hvorgang->name</option>";
                                            }
                                            echo "  </SELECT>&nbsp;<input type=submit name=add value=add>
                                                            <input type=submit name=remove value=remove></form>";
                                        ?>
                                        </TD>
                                      </TR>

                                      <TR bordercolor="#FFFFFF" bgcolor="#333333">
                                   <TD height="1" colspan="3">
                                     <P align="center"><B><FONT face="Arial" size="2" color="#FF6600">Untervorgang</FONT></P>
                                   </TD>
                                 </TR>

                                     <TR bordercolor="#FF6600">
                                        <TD nowrap>Enter Option Name:
                                        <?
                                        $queryU = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM uvorgang");
                                         echo "  <form name=FORMuvorgang action='' method=post>
                                                            <input type=text size=10 name=NEWuvorgang>
                                                            <SELECT name=uvorgang>";
                                            while($uvorgang=mysql_fetch_object($queryU))
                                            {
                                                    echo "<option>$uvorgang->name</option>";
                                            }
                                            echo "  </SELECT>&nbsp;<input type=submit name=add value=add>
                                                            <input type=submit name=remove value=remove></form>";
                                        ?>
                                        </TD>
                                      </TR>


                  </TABLE>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •