Thread: Connecting to DB using Users and Roles

Question Connecting to DB using Users and Roles

I am new to DBA related stuff so please bare with me...

I am working for a small company that wants me to create a database for their website which is hosted by a 3rd party company.

In order to write the code I had to install Interdev, SQL Server, and Windows NT option pack for a server.

The computer that I use has username: Administrator and no password (I don't know if this is the same as SA and no password). The company's server is running off my computer.

For now all I really want to do is connect to the database and test the web page.
    I know that in connecting to the database I should really use a userid and password.

I would like to use the following connectionstring:

"Provider=SQLOLEDB; Data Source=SERVER; Initial Catalog=MonarchMedical; User ID=monarchuser; Password=monarchuser"

I believe that my domain name is called SERVER. The database I wan to conncet to is MonarchMedical and the userid and password I want to create is monarchuser.

This is where I'm stuck. Does this involve creating users and roles? How do I assign this to my login (Administrator).

I even tried to connect to the Northwind database using no userid and password and it gives me the following error:

Login failed for user 'IUSR_SERVER'. Error in database connection

What am I doing wrong? How can I get this to work?

Please help!!!!

Your connection string is not using a trusted connection, so it is looking for a database login. First logon to your SQL Server through enterprise manager. You can use windows authentication to register the server since you are an admin. Next you'll need to create a login for your website to use. In this example we'll call the login monarchuser with a password of monarchuser like you are doing. Make sure you put the login into the datareader and datawriter roles for the MonarchMedical db. Now alter your connection string to look like this: