Thread: Insert into / add

Insert into / add

Hi there! I am working on an Oracle 8 DB. We use a CRM Tool at our helpdesk and a special module which includes fields such as name, first name, address,...
    The module can look up the DB for existing calls/requests.
    My problem is: when a request is found in the DB, the new content is not added, but is replacing the former text.
    Can you help? I am a novice in SQL. The following procedure has been generated by the module, which provides a GUI.
    Thanks a lot in advance!
    Matthieu
    update AFFAIRES set AFFAIRES.AF_REMARQUE=P_Nachricht,AFFAIRES.T9_CODE= P_Kontaktart,AFFAIRES.AF_INFO_COMP30=P_Vorgangsnum mer,AFFAIRES.T20_CODE=P_Medium_Antwort,AFFAIRES.AF _INFO_COMP25=P_VIN,AFFAIRES.AF_INFO_COMP11=P_EZD,A FFAIRES.AF_INFO_COMP6=P_Km_Stand,AFFAIRES.AF_INFO_ COMP16=P_NoVorgang,AFFAIRES.T7_CODE=65 where AF_CODE=V_AF_CODE;
    else
    select SEQ_AFFAIRES.nextval into V_AF_CODE from dual;
    insert into AFFAIRES (AFFAIRES.AF_REMARQUE,AFFAIRES.T9_CODE,AFFAIRES.AF _INFO_COMP30,AFFAIRES.T20_CODE,AFFAIRES.AF_INFO_CO MP25,AFFAIRES.AF_INFO_COMP11,AFFAIRES.AF_INFO_COMP 6,AFFAIRES.AF_INFO_COMP16,AFFAIRES.T7_CODE,AFFAIRE S.AF_DATE_CREA,AFFAIRES.AF_DATE_CONT,AFFAIRES.REFE RENCE,AFFAIRES.AF_CODE) values (P_Nachricht,P_Kontaktart,P_Vorgangsnummer,P_Mediu m_Antwort,P_VIN,P_EZD,P_Km_Stand,P_NoVorgang,65,sy sdate,sysdate,V_REFERENCE,V_AF_CODE);
    end if;

I am not clear about the problem, do you want to insert a new record even if it is found in DB?

Thanks for your answer.

I try to explain it better:

We have a webformular with fields like name, first name, aso...
    The customer can inform us whether he is contacting us for a new problem or an existing problem. All existing problems have an ID-Number.

In case of a new call, all fields will be filled in in our DB.

In case of an existing call, only the new information /free text) given by the customer should be inserted.