Thread: Problem adding NOT NULL column to replicated table

Problem adding NOT NULL column to replicated table

I'm new to replication and am trying to determine the best approach to add a column (NOT NULL with no DEFAULT) to a replicated table. The only success I have had is if I do the following:

Delete entire Subscription
    Delete entire Publication
    Add column to table
    Create new Publication
    Create new Subscription
    Run SnapShot

The problem with this approach is that each step affects the entire database and not just the modified table. I think it is inefficient to redo replication for a simple object change. What am I missing? Is there a way to only replicate the changes made to the one table without having to run a SnapShot for the entire publication?
    Keep in mind the column must be defined as NOT NULL and cannot have a Default.

Thanks, Dave

What's your sql version?

You cannot use the GUI to do what you want.

However, you can easily use the replication stored procs to do what you want. Have a look at sp_dropsubscription, sp_droparticle, sp_addsubscription and sp_addarticle.

It is worth generating out the scripts to drop and add the publication. You will see these stored procs being used. You should note that the sp_addsubscription uses "All" for the article name. Similar for sp_dropsubscription. You should specify the name of the arcticle that contains the table you are about to change.

The process you need is similar to your original post but for the one article only not the entire publication

Cheers
    Stephen