Thread: Help with technical interview question for hiring DBA

Help with technical interview question for hiring DBA

Hi Everyone,

I am a DBA in my company and we are looking to hire another DBA. We are about to interview people and I am in charge of the technical interview. Anyone can help me with some questionare which can be asked to determine the person's knowledge level?

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks!

OK. Let me give you all questions that you can ask, but I am going to be your candidate.

Usually ask the candidate about his exposure and experience. Based on that the questions will change. Based on their answers your qustion changes

These are some general interview questions. If you need answers for this, call me for an interview

a. what backup strategy you used to follow in your client place.
    b. You are not a Local Admin for a SQL Server box but you are a SA in that box. How will you take backup from production and move the backup file to QA box.
    c. We have a Database with 10 filegroups. How would i make that to 1 primary filegroup.
    d. My data file is 1 GB but my tranlog is 15 GB. Whats wrong? How would I fix it.
    e. Did you happen to know any undocumented Stored procedures?
    f. How would you find what version of SQL Server I am running.
    g. What would be the easy and right step to migrate from production 6.5 to SQL 2000 development box. Latency is not important.
    h. when i run sp_changedbowner i am getting an error 'already a user in th database ', what should I do to rectify it.
    i. A table has index. and I am importing 5 million records. when i run any query it takes longer than expected. what should I do?
    j. When will u usually run DBCC commands and why?
    k. I have deleted a static table accidentatly in production. How will I bring it back.
    l. Some of the developers are the owner of the certain objects. how would you make all the owners to a single owner name DBO