dcsimg
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: database back up restore failure

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    11

    database back up restore failure

    HI all
    I am doing homogenious system copy from PRD to SANDBOX.
    While executing the restore script on the SANDBOX it throws
    the following
    " BackupMedium::ReportIoError: read failure on backup device '\\RISOFILE4\RELFPD_Drive_S$\PRDBK\PRD3.BAK'. Operating system error 1130(Not enough server storage is available to process this command.). "

    For restoring i am using four parallel backup files ie PRD1.BAK,
    PRD2.BAK,PRD3.BAK and PRD4.BAK

    I am using the following script to restore

    restore database FPD from disk='\\RISOFILE4\RELFPD_Drive_S$\PRDBK\PRD1.BAK',
    disk='\\RISOFILE4\RELFPD_Drive_S$\PRDBK\PRD2.BAK',
    disk='\\RISOFILE4\RELFPD_Drive_S$\PRDBK\PRD3.BAK',
    disk='\\RISOFILE4\RELFPD_Drive_S$\PRDBK\PRD4.BAK'
    with recovery, replace,
    MOVE 'PRDDATA1' to 'I:\FPDDATA1\FPDDATA1.mdf',
    move 'PRDDATA2' to 'J:\FPDDATA2\FPDDATA2.ndf',
    move 'PRDDATA3' to 'K:\FPDDATA3\FPDDATA3.ndf',
    move 'PRDDATA4' to 'L:\FPDDATA4\FPDDATA4.ndf',
    move 'PRDDATA5' to 'M:\FPDDATA5\FPDDATA5.ndf',
    move 'PRDDATA6' to 'N:\FPDDATA6\FPDDATA6.ndf',
    move 'PRDDATA7' to 'O:\FPDDATA7\FPDDATA7.ndf',
    move 'PRDDATA8' to 'P:\FPDDATA8\FPDDATA8.ndf',
    move 'PRDLOG1' to 'F:\FPDLOG1\FDPLOG1.ldf',
    move 'PRDLOG2' to 'G:\FPDLOG2\FDPLOG2.ldf'


    And i'm using SAP 4.7 with sql server 2000 and database size is
    500GB.

    thankyou in advance
    RAJESH

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    3,918
    Does the SQL service account in the sand box has access to \\RISOFILE4\RELFPD_Drive_S$\PRDBK?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,938
    Use 'restore filelistonly' to get size of each db file, and ensure your sandbox has enough disk space to hold them.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    11
    Yes i have check that and i have enough space to store the
    data

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    11
    Yes i have access to \\RISOFILE4\RELFPD_Drive_S$\PRDBK
    folder.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,938
    Check kb article 304101. It's not exactly for your case, but may help.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    11
    i fallowed article 304101 and i applied those settings but still i am getting same problem,
    Thankyou
    Rajesh

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,938
    Possible to post results of 'restore filelistonly' and disk info on your sandbox?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    3,918
    Quote Originally Posted by rajeshv
    Yes i have access to \\RISOFILE4\RELFPD_Drive_S$\PRDBK
    folder.
    It's not your account that needs access to this folder, it's the account under which SQL Server service is running.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    11
    here is my sandbox information

    PRDDATA1 I:\PRDDATA1\PRDDATA1.mdf D PRIMARY 63963136000 35184372080640
    PRDDATA2 J:\PRDDATA2\PRDDATA2.ndf D PRIMARY 63963136000 35184372080640
    PRDDATA3 K:\PRDDATA3\PRDDATA3.ndf D PRIMARY 63963136000 35184372080640
    PRDDATA4 L:\PRDDATA4\PRDDATA4.ndf D PRIMARY 63963136000 35184372080640
    PRDDATA5 M:\PRDDATA5\PRDDATA5.ndf D PRIMARY 63963136000 35184372080640
    PRDDATA6 N:\PRDDATA6\PRDDATA6.ndf D PRIMARY 63963136000 35184372080640
    PRDDATA7 O:\PRDDATA7\PRDDATA7.ndf D PRIMARY 63963136000 35184372080640
    PRDDATA8 P:\PRDDATA8\PRDDATA8.ndf D PRIMARY 63963136000 35184372080640
    PRDLOG1 F:\PRDLOG1\PRDLOG1.ldf L NULL 19922944000 19922944000
    PRDLOG2 G:\PRDLOG2\PRDLOG2.ldf L NULL 19922944000 19922944000


    and i have 15 drives in my sand box
    which are with size
    Local Disk c 8.00 Gb Program files
    Local Disk D 25.8 GB empty for Program files
    Local Disk E 60.0 GB empty for R/3 files
    Local Disk F 20.0 GB empty for logfiles
    Local Disk G 20.0 GB empty for logfiles
    Local Disk H 30.0 GB empty for TEMP files
    Local Disk I 254 GB empty for Restore DB
    Local Disk J 119 GB empty for Restore DB
    Local Disk K 119 GB empty for Restore DB
    Local Disk L 119 GB empty for Restore DB
    Local Disk M 119 GB empty for Restore DB
    Local Disk N 119 GB empty for Restore DB
    Local Disk O 119 GB empty for Restore DB
    Local Disk P 124 GB empty for Restore DB
    Local Disk R 26.0 GB java and SQL files

    and i have total 4 parllel backup(restore) files with 450GB

    thankyou
    Rajesh

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by skhanal
    It's not your account that needs access to this folder, it's the account under which SQL Server service is running.

    yes the account on which SQL server is running as access to that \\RISOFILE4\RELFPD_Drive_S$\PRDBK?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,938
    Max size of the db is too big to fit on your sandbox.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    11
    I guess i have sufficient space on my sand box machine to restore the data
    because

    DATAFILES SIZE SANDBOX DRIVE SIZE
    PRDDATA1 63 GB 254 GB (I DRIVE)
    PRDDATA2 63 GB 119 GB (J DRIVE)
    PRDDATA3 63 GB 119 GB (K DRIVE)
    PRDDATA4 63 GB 119 GB (L DRIVE)
    PRDDATA5 63 GB 119 GB (M DRIVE)
    PRDDATA6 63 GB 119 GB (N DRIVE)
    PRDDATA7 63 GB 119 GB (O DRIVE)
    PRDDATA8 63 GB 124 GB (P DRIVE)
    PRDLOG1 19 GB 20 GB (F DRIVE)
    PRDLOG2 19 GB 20 GB (G DRIVE)

    So sandbox machine has sufficient space to accommodate the
    datafiles and log files.

    I have total C drvie of space 8 GB where OS is installed and
    D drive of space 25.8 GB where MS SQL Server is installed
    E drive of space 60 GB where /urs/sap is installed.

    All the backup files PRD1.BAK,PRD2.BAK,PRD3.BAK and PRD4.BAK
    are mapped to the network drive S.

    How can the db size is too big to fit in my sandbox?

    Please correct me if i am wrong.

    Thanks
    Rajesh

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,938
    The map looks good. Does your sandbox have same amount of memory as on prod server? Tried reboot sandbox to free up memory then do restore?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    11
    On sandbox i have 4 gb of RAM and on production i have 8 gb of RAM memory . so i don't think physical RAM memory size will effect the restore?

    i have reboted the sandbox machine arround more then 10 times.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •