dcsimg
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: SQL server does not exist or access denied

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8

    SQL server does not exist or access denied

    I'm trying to connect to an outside server that hosts SQL Server 2000. The guys there told me that all I need to do is download Enterprise Manager, and I can connect to my database that way, and even though it's a trial version, the Enterprise Manager would keep working. I also was under the impression that I didn't need the server running on my machine, all I need to connect is the Enterprise Manager. First I want to make sure these statements are correct.

    I did what they said and connected fine and have been updating my database for over 2 months now. Yesterday two things happened. The host said that he had to reset user/pass, and I also deleted some things from my startup. Now I am getting the following error when I try to connect to my database in Enterprise Manager:

    A connection could not be established to...
    Reason: SQL server does not exist or access denied.
    ConnectionOpen (Connect())..
    Please verify SQL server is running and check your SQL server registration properties and try again.


    Does anyone know why this error is coming up? Thanks.

    Steve

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,938
    Can you ping the server from your pc? Any firewall in between? If so, does port used by sql open on firewall?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8
    I don't use a firewall.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8
    How do I ping the server?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    3,918
    You don't need a sql server running on your machine to connect to another sql server machine.

    Did you Edit the registration of sql server in enterprise manager with new user name and password?. You can right click on the server and go to edit registraion option to make the change.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,938
    Type 'ping server_name' in dos prompt, where server_name is your sql server's name.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8
    The PING connects me.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8
    The error happens while I am trying to finish the registration.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    86
    Hi, you don't need to "ping".
    Just go to Start -> Programs -> Microsoft SQL Server

    then Execute the "Client NEtwork Utility".

    Within this apps check out:
    1) On the General tab make sure enabled protocols are - Named Pipes; TCP/IP and Multiprotocol

    2) on the Alias tab check if there is an Alias exists to the server you attemp to connect to and if there is then remove it (write down all the settings for it first just in case).

    Click "Apply" button and try to connect use your EM, should work.

    Dim

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,938
    Then ensure you typed correct user id and password.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8
    I did that. It didn't work. It turns out my brother connected from a different computer. I also downloaded another program called Aquadata Studio, which can call your SQL database, my brother connected, I get the same error message. So, it looks like the problem goes deeper into my computer. I think it may be a virus. Any insight into how I could try to solve this problem would be greatly appreciated.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8
    The weirdest thing is happening. I go to Edit SQL Server registration properties, and I type in my password which is 5 letters. I get the error message, then I go back into Edit SQL Server registration properties again, and the password box has 10 stars, instead of the 5 that it should have.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    7

    Same exact problem

    I don't need to explain my issue its exactly like yours. EM started to give me this error out of the blue this past weekend. A second machine on my network for which I had not touched EM in over a month is also experiencing the same exact problem.

    I am on Cox cable and they have said they are not blocking port 1433. One of my hosts says they they are able to get in on my account with EM. I can't access either of my SQL Server accounts with 2 different providers.

    No new software, the only thing left is a router which has not been touched. Maybe if we compare notes we can find a common link that is the cause.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    7

    Virus??

    I forgot to mention about the time this happened, I think is when I was downloading some SQL Server scripts and a saw a popup box for a brief second that said "something infecting", it was so fast I can't remember/did not see what "something" was. I have ran a virus check twice since than and found nothing. It sure is sounding like that. My pasword stars is also doing the same thing but I am not sure that is not normal behavior in the mask routine.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8
    I've learned a few things. I talked to Cox tonight, and they said they ARE blocking my port 1433, and that I have to switch to a business account. Of course the business account specialists were closed for the night, so I have to wait until 8am tomorrow morning to switch my account and see if this works.

    The password box problem is normal, and I don't remember seeing any popup box. I'll let you know how this works out.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •