Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Tornado - Supervalidator

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    115

    Tornado - Supervalidator

    From reading tornados documentation it appears that SuperValidator can not be used on a field of type SELECTBOX. Is this true?

    If the above is true, what is your recommendation for testing a blank SELECTBOX field.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    933
    Correct. The mpuse click drop action and the textbox type action makes it pretty impossible and when you pitch in the Netscape browser differences - it is finsihed. Use the magicValidate in this case.

    FK

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    115
    I've tried to use MagicValidate with no success so I'm posting a section of my code and hopefully you can give me a lead on all this.

    Dim eaFlds as String = ""
    eaFlds = "fi=Critical|ty=Checkbox," & _
    "fi=Activity_ID|ty=SelectBox+B|te=Aindex|oper=IB|e rr=Can Not be Blank," & _
    "fi=CreateID|ty=SelectBox+B|te=Cindex|oper=IB|err= Must Select A Champion," & _
    "fi=CreateDate|ty=ROAdd|def=Now()," & _
    "fi=Actual_Hours|tag=size=4," & _
    "fi=Actual_GOE|tag=size=8," & _
    "fi=ActStatus|ty=TextArea|tag=COLS=35 ROWS=6," & _
    "fi=Lesson|ty=TextArea|tag=COLS=35 ROWS=6"
    .dbEditAddFlds=eaFlds

    thanks, paul

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    933
    I'll point you to some examples. but before that, what is the case in drop down box validation overall? You put a blank there +B and then validate as "MUST select...". What is the login behind validating a drop box? Should the validate be done in building the drop box items ?


    FK

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    115
    The selectbox, in add mode is blank. The user must make a selection, that's why I need the validation to work. Same goes for the CreateID field.

    The datatype for activity_id field is INT 4 and for CreateID it's NVarChar 25.
    Both these dropfields are indexed from another SQL table.

    I need this to work so data integrity will be preserved. paul

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    933
    >>..The selectbox, in add mode is blank. The user must make a selection


    Why is it blank then in Add mode or any mode? If you do not allow blank then the drop box should have no blank.

    FK

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    115
    No, in add mode, I want the user to make a selection, that's why it's blank.
    If not blank, the user could leave the default which may not be correct. Same thing with the createID field in add mode. It's a way of making the user think about what selection is correct.

    Further, Why shouldn't a dropdown box be able to be validated for a blank? If's a data entry field and should.

    Paul

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    933
    OK, I do not understand and I'll return to this issue when I have time.. meanwhile try the following code. The blank dropbox is validated ->


    <script language="vb" runat="server">
    Sub Page_Load(Source as Object, E as EventArgs)
    Dim MU As New Tornado.Z()
    MU.dbQP = "DSN=nwind| Skin=3| Bookmark=Employees;0| startup=editupdate| TextHolder=EditTitle=Quick Edit with MagicUpdateValidate"
    MU.dbCommonTables = "Index=A|Value=Mr.,Mrs.,Ms"
    MU.dbEditUpdateFlds = "(;,~)fi=0|ty=RONOUPDATE, fi=1 | oper=EQ| Comp=Kwong, fi=FirstName | oper=ST | Comp=Frank~Polly | Notes=Must be Frank or Polly, fi=3 | oper=NB| Comp=Dummy, fi=titleofcourtesy|ty=Selectbox+b|val=A|Tex=A|oper =NB|Errortext=Cannot be Blank ,fi=HireDate | oper=RAD| Comp=1/1/80-1/1/2000"
    MU.ASPdbNET()
    End Sub
    </script>

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    115
    I tried what you suggested but, it still allows blanks from the selectbox.

    I did a search of this forum and see that someone else was having the same issue. Is it possible the version of Tornado I have is not supportive of this validation?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    933
    try this one as see the blank titleofcourtesy field validated ->

    http://www.fkw.us/tornado/problem/magicvalidate.aspx

    if OK then get the latest (you should have that)

    FK

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    115
    yep, the link worked. the example didn't have the soource code, or is that what you gave me before?
    What do I need to do about the version?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    933
    yes.. same source as I always deposit the test code now in the same directory of www.fkw.us test server.

    I'll send you the non-official DLL again.

    FK

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    115
    Thanks for all your help,Frank, It now works!!!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •